(864) 295-5764

3800 Calhoun Memorial Hwy, Easley, SC 29640


Gibson and Sorel Win Twins!


After weeks and weeks or rainouts, Greenville-Pickens Speedway got in a complete twin 40-lap late-model stock program, and it also turned out to be dropped valve night among the front-runners.
    Engine problems hit Marty Ward first, as he dropped a valve in the opening race and was not able to compete in nightcap.
    Will Burns, driving Toby Porter's car in the nightcap, dropped a valve and could not finish the race, and shortly after Anthony Anders dropped a valve in his car but still managed to finish third.
    Jeremy Sorel, from Stateville, NC, was making his first-ever start at Greenvlle-Pickens, and he started in the front for the second race and led the entire race. Sorel, who normally races at Hickory, was also the top qualifier. Ryan Walker  took second in the nightcap, with Anders in third, Trey Walker fourth, and Greg Tinsley was fifth.
    In the first 40-lap main event, Trey Gibson, who qualified second and started fourth due to the inversion, but as soon as the green flag fell he jumped to the front and was never headed. Already the youngest driver ever to win a late-model stock main event at the historic halfl mile, Gibson thanked a lot of people from Victory Lane but most especially his grandfather, Ed Porter, for allowing him to race. Current points leader Anthony Anders passed Ryan Walker with just three laps remaining for second place, and Will Burns, driving Toby Porter's racer, finished fourth. Jeremy Sorel was fifth, and Marty Ward, who lost a cylinder in his racer midway though the race, finished sixth.
   Ricky Stephens set the record book alive in the Charger division, starting in the rear and charging straight to Victory Lane for the seventh consecutive race. He has won every race he has entered this season. Andy Norris finished second and Travis Cox was third. Chris Harvell took fourth and Josh Sams was fifth.
     Jamie Altop grabbed the victory in the Trucks Division, as Tim Lollis took second and current points leader Bob Root finished third. Chuckie Greer was fourth and Mike Mote finished fifth.
    Dale J. Walker won the Street Stock main, with Drew Moser in second and Buck Simmons in third. Freddy Hale, Jr. was fourth and Scott C. Walkerl was fifth.
    Kyle Ballew, making his first start of the season at Greenville-Pickens Speedway worked his way steadily to the front and took the checkerd flag in the Renegade division. Andrew Cordell was second and Daniel Jameson was third. Bobby Emory was fourth and Parker Jameson finished fifth.
    Donovan Beacham was a first-time winner in the four cylinder class, as Charlie Hooper was second and Brian King finished third. Don Tavernia and Austin Heil finished fourth and fifth, respectively.




FaceBook  Twitter

Event Calendar